APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD
- FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN COLLIER COUNTY
HEALTH OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS
Office Location: 3339 Tamiami Trail East, Suite 315, Naples, FL 34112
(239) 252-8205 = collier.floridahealth.gov = Hours: 8:00 am-4:30 pm (Monday-Friday)

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if
he death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

hen cause of death information is requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application. If a
mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in
statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting
cause of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this

pplication.
ceptable forms of valid ID are: Driver's Licen

SECTION A: DECEDENT INFORMATION

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX
NAME OF DECEDENT
IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known) SEX
ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE)
MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED Indicate range of vears to search
DATE OF DEATH (Required only when exact year of death is pof known)
PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY STATE FILE NUMBER (if known)
PLACE OF DEATH
NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS FIRST MIDDLE LAST (Maiden, if applicable) SUFFIX
RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD
(if applicable and if known)
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER FUNERAL HOME NAME
(if known) (if known)

—
IMPORTANT INFORMATION
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or
on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of
the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

SECTION B: APPLICANT (aduit requesting certificate) INFORMATION

If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the relationship of the
person you represent. Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form.

Applicant’s Name FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUT=FIX) SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT
TYPE OR PRINT
HOME PHONE NUMBER MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT
ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER cITY STATE ZIP CODE
A - LICENSE/ BAR NUMBER NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED and THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT
Funeral D y as Apf for Cause
of Death Information

SECTION C: COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT FEE INFORMATION

Quantity Amount
Fetal Death: Is this certification for a fetal death? OYes 0QONo
Cause of Death: How many certifications WITH Cause of Death do you need? $10.00 X = $
Without Cause of Death: How many certifications WITHOUT Cause of Death do you need? $10.00 X = $
Protective Plastic Covers: (Optional). $3.00 X = $
Total |$
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration.
While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

ELIGIBILITY:
WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death
records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

1. Decedent's spouse or parent;
2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;
3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the

decedent;
4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized
Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the above information
you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for

assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and
the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified
above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH
1959) must accompany this request. SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death
information included when filing probate.

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the
front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are

found for common names.
APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

[ COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT NAME AND ADDRESS
3339 Tamiami Trail East, Bldg. H. Suite 315 Naples, FL 34112 - Hours: 8:00AM - 4:30PM, Monday through Friday

MAIL WITH PAYMENT: Florida Department of Health in Collier County Attention Vital
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SOLICITUD DE UNA PARTIDA DE DEFUNCION EN FLORIDA
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN COLLIER COUNTY
OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS

H TH Office Location: 3339 Tamiami Trail East, Suite 315, Naples, FL 34112
(239) 252-8205 = collier.floirdahealth.gov * Hours: 8:00 am-4:30 pm (Monday-Friday)

| ea el FRENTE Y el REVERSO de esta solicitud: cualquier persona puede solicitar un certificado de defuncién. Cuando también se solicita informacién sobre la causa del
eceso y el fallecimiento tuvo lugar hace menos de 50 afios, se debe adjuntar una identificacion valida con foto a esta solicitud, o si se trata de una solicitud por correo, se
ebe proporcionar una copia de la identificacion valida con foto (frente y reverso); Y el solicitante O la persona representada deben ser elegibles segun lo estipulado en el
lestatuto (ver Elegibilidad en el reverso de este formulario). Se debe ingresar la relacion con el difunto en el espacio proviso al pie de este formulario si se solicita la causa del
lieceso. Si es el director de una funeraria o un abogado, obtenga informacién adicional en Elegibilidad en el reverso de este formulario para garantizar la correcta

omplecion de esta solicitud.
IFormas de identificacién valida aceptadas: licencia de conducir, tarjeta de identificacion estatal, pasaporte o tarjeta de identificacién militar.

SECCION A: INFORMACION DEL DIFUNTO

NOMBRE SEGUNDO NOMBRE APELLIDO(S) SUFIJO
NOMBRE DEL DIFUNTO
S| ES MUJER, INDICAR EL APELLIDO DE SOLTERA (sl se conoce) SEXO
ALIAS (S| CORRESPONDE)
MES DIA ANO (4 DIGITOS) ANOS ADICIONALES PARA LA BUSQUEDA indlque el rango de aflos que se buscaran
FECHA DEL DECESO (Solo se requl do no se el afio t
del deceso)
LUGAR DEL DECESO, CIUDAD O PUEBLO LUGAR DEL DECESO, CONDADO NUMERO DE REGISTRO ESTATAL
LUGAR DEL DECESO (sl 3 canoce)
NOMBRE DE LA VIUDA/O REGISTRADAIO NOMBRE SEGUNDO NOMBRE APELLIDO (de soltera, si comesponde) SUFNO
EN LA PARTIDA DE DEFUNCION
(sl corresponde y 8l se )
NUMERO DE SEGURIDAD SOCIAL NOMBRE DE LA FUNERARIA
(sl se conoce) (sl se conoce)

INFORMACION IMPORTANTE

Cualquier persona que, consciente y voluntariamente, proporcione informacién falsa en un certificado, registro o informe exigida por el Capitulo 382 de
los Estatutos de Florida, o en una solicitud o declaracién jurada, que obtenga informacién confidencial de algun certificado del Registro Civil para fines
falsos o fraudulentos, o que cometa un delito de tercer grado, seré castigada de conformidad con el Capituio 775 de los Estatutos de Florida.

SECCION B: INFORMACION DEL SOLICITANTE

Si solicita la causa del deceso, todos los solicitantes deben indicar su relacion con el difunto; si es el director de la funeraria o un abogado, debe ingresar la relacién

de la persona que representa con el difunto. Los requisitos de elegibilidad se proporcionan en el reverso de este formulario.
NOMBRE, SEGUNDO NOMBRE Y APELLIDO (INCLUSO CUALQUIER SUFIJO} FIRMA DEL SOLICITANTE

Nombre del solicitante

ESCRIBIR A MAQUINA O CON
LETRA DE IMPRENTA
NUMERO DE TELEFONO FLJO DIRECCION DE ENVIQO (INCLUIR NO. DE APARTAMENTO, S| CORRESPONDE) RELACION CON EL DIFUNTO
NUMERO DE TELEFONO ALTERNATIVO CIUDAD ESTADO CODIGO POSTAL
Director de la funerariafAbogado como soficitante NUMERO DE LICENCIA/COLEGIADO NOMBRE DE LA PERSONA REPRESENTADA y SU RELACION CON EL DIFUNTO
de Informacién sobre la causa del deceso [

SECCION C: INFORMACION DE TARIFAS DEL DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD DEL CONDADO

Cantidad Monto
Es esta una muerte fetal? Osi Ono
Cantidad CON CAUSA de defuncién: $10.00 X = $
Cantidad SIN CAUSA de defuncién: $10.00 X = $
Cubierto Plastico: 8.5 by 11 (Opcional). $3.00 X = $
Total |$
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INFORMACION Y INSTRUCCIONES PARA SOLICITAR UNA PARTIDA DE DEFUNCION

DISPONIBILIDAD: el registro de deceso no era exigido por las leyes estatales hasta 1917; sin embargo tenemos registros consistentes de
muchos afios antes. Si bien en los expedientes hay algunos registros con fechas desde 1877, no todos los eventos fueron registrados.

ELEGIBILIDAD:
SIN CAUSA DEL DECESO: cualquier persona mayor de edad (18) puede recibir un certificado de defuncién sin causa del deceso.

!_NFORMACI()hﬁQBRE LA CAUSA DEL DECESO: se podra informar la causa del deceso de cualquier partida que tenga mas de
50 afios a cualquier solicitante. Las partidas de defuncion que tengan menos de 50 afios y que incluyan informacion sobre la causa
del deceso pueden entregarse solo a las siguientes personas:

1. conyuge o padre del difunto;

2. hijo, nieto o hermano del difunto, si es mayor de edad;

3. cualquier persona que presente un testamento, pdliza de seguro u otro documento que demuestre su participacion en la

herencia del difunto;

4. cualquier persona que presente documentacion que indique que esta representando a alguna de las personas

mencionadas anteriormente.

Las solicitudes de un certificado de defuncion que incluya informacion sobre la causa del deceso deben demostrar la elegibilidad
calificada, o debe haber disponible una declaracion jurada para la divulgacion de informacion de la causa del deceso firmada ante
escribano publico (Formulario DH 1959), si se solicita. Si después de haber leido la informacion anterior todavia tiene dudas acerca
de su elegibilidad para recibir informacion sobre la causa del deceso, llame a nuestra oficina al (904) 359-6900, extensién 9000,

para obtener ayuda.

El director de una funeraria o un abogado que represente a una persona elegible, segun lo definido anteriormente, debe incluir su
numero de licencia profesional, y el nombre y la relacion de la persona que representan, en caso de que se solicite la causa del
deceso. Si no representa a alguna de las personas identificadas anteriormente como elegibles para recibir informacion sobre la
causa del deceso, se debe adjuntar a esta solicitud una declaracion jurada para la divulgacion de informacion de la causa del
deceso (Formulario DH 1959). NOTA ESPECIAL: los secretarios del juzgado de Florida no aceptaran una partida de defuncion con
informacion sobre la causa de! deceso incluida cuando se presenta un pedido de sucesion testamentaria.

INFORMACION REQUERIDA: no se pueden realizar busquedas sin el nombre del difunto y el afio del deceso. Si aiguno de los demas puntos
requeridos en el frente de este formulario no esta disponible, es posible que otra informacion de identificacion (como nombres de los padres,
lugar de nacimiento, etc.) sea Util si se encuentran varias partidas con nombres comunes.

FIRMA DEL SOLICITANTE: se requiere la firma del solicitante asi como también su nombre, direccién de residencia vélida y nGmero de teléfono.

| NOMBRE Y DIRECCION DEL DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD DEL CONDADO
3339 Tamiami Trail East, Bldg. H. Suite 315 Naples, FL 34112 = Horas: 8:00AM - 4:30PM, Lunes a Viernes

ENVIE ESTA SOLICITUD Y EL PAGO A: The Deapartment of Health in Collier County: 3339 Tamiami Trail East, Suite 315, Naples, FL 34112
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